Go Back   AfricanGreyForum.com > African Grey Topics > Rehomed Birds

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-20-2009, 01:56 AM
bubba73 bubba73 is offline
Fledgling
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Default Myrtle Beach SC family wanting to adopt a Grey here

We are really wanting to adopt a grey. Any and all help would be appreciated.

Thanks
George
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-20-2009, 03:08 AM
hopehaswings hopehaswings is offline
Fledgling
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 9
Default

I found my grey rehome on craigslist, but there are lots of birds at m,any online sites needing homes. There is hoobly.com, domesticsale.com, uspetclassifieds.com, and many more I am sure. The bad thing is, you ahve NO idea what you are getting into, no matter what you are told, there is no gaurentee of the birds actual age, sex, tameness, or temperment. But helping a scared missplaced parrot feel happy again is a rewarding(and long) prosess. Good luck and be careful of scammers!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-20-2009, 06:27 AM
FloorCandy FloorCandy is offline
Nesting Nicely
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 76
Default

I found my CAG on Craigslist and I could not be happier with the outcome! Just keep watching the ads in your area, and it takes time to find the right one, but it will happen.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-21-2009, 02:26 AM
Tudorbug Tudorbug is offline
Nesting Nicely
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 134
Default

I would echo strongly "hopehaswings" and say beware of scams when viewing advertisements for parrots. There are a surprisingly large number of advertisements in which there is no real parrot for sale and all that is desired is your money sent by a variety of electronic means.

I would be happy to send those who are curious some exampes.

David
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-21-2009, 07:56 AM
FloorCandy FloorCandy is offline
Nesting Nicely
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 76
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tudorbug View Post
I would echo strongly "hopehaswings" and say beware of scams when viewing advertisements for parrots. There are a surprisingly large number of advertisements in which there is no real parrot for sale and all that is desired is your money sent by a variety of electronic means.

I would be happy to send those who are curious some exampes.

David
I agree, there is no reason to send any money before you receive the bird. You would want to meet the bird before committing anyway, to make sure he is healthy, and to make sure he has not been falsely advertised.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-21-2009, 09:43 PM
hopehaswings hopehaswings is offline
Fledgling
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 9
Default

Definatly, stay away from birds that need to be shipped, or someone wanting you to mail or wire a payment beforehand for ANY reason! Meeting the bird in person before commiting is the best policy. And ask lots of questioons, and try to get as much info as you can. I have absolutly NO history for my rehome grey and I HATE knowing nothing about his past.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-22-2009, 02:11 PM
Tudorbug Tudorbug is offline
Nesting Nicely
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 134
Default

At any rate, getting away from the subject of being cheated, Craig's list, Kiji and newpapers in your area might be sources to check but any bird that you develop and interest in should be within your acceptable travel distance.

They are unlikely to be inexpensive, however.

David
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
FRIENDS OF AFRICAN GREY FORUM